The Best This Week: Eighteen in Scout Rallos

I was looking for a place to eat and had stumbled upon a  group of new places to eat at Scout Rallos,  in from of the plaice where I used to live. There was a Mother Graham Coffee House, and beside it Eighteen. I was after serious food, and EIGHTEEN was the place it seemed.

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 10.45.27 AM

 

A block of roast pork was featured prominently on Eighteen’s posters.  The menu had pasta dishes, some promising meats and a good list of wines. The waiter suggested the roast pork. My friend cḩose the Beef Bourgignon. The pork was perfectly roasted and resting on a bed of potatoes. It was crisp on the outside and tender inside, aS you bit, you sensed a mildly sweet sauce that complimented the perfectness of the roast.

I tasted my friend’s beef Bourgignon, and it reminded me of my first beef bourgignon in Paris in 1986. I made a mental note to try it the next time. Eighteen is an intimate place that is worth a try if you hate large crowded spaces.

Chad chose Chicken Parmigiana

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 10.44.33 AM

 

Leave a Reply

